Curving Blanket

Bri R

Question

Hey Everybody!

I am very very new to crocheting, and my first project ever is crocheting a blanket. This blanket has thick yarn. I have undid this blanket twice already because of my edges, on one side my edges are palmist straight and on another my edges are getting wider and wider. I’ve already tried tightening the hold of my yarn but it is not working. I read that I am suppose to buy a bigger hook, twice the size of the one I already have which is N. Can someone please help me out! 

Thank you so much! 

Linked below is a picture of my blanket! 

Blanket

2 answers to this question

Count the number of stitches on your first row.  Then count the number of stitches on your last row.  I think you are going to find that you have been adding stitches.  Its easy to do.  You really have to watch stitch placement at the ends of your rows.  I have crocheted for many years and I still get off if I am not careful.  Its better to stop and count stitches for each row than to have to pull out several rows.

^ What she said - this is a common problem.  Per your photo, neither edge is 'almost straight' (sorry to be blunt), I can see your stitch count is varying on both side edges.   If the vertical edge on the right is the beginning, you've lost a lot of stitches at that end.

I haven't had the opportunity to teach someone how to crochet, but if I did the first thing I'd say is "don't even think about starting out with variegated or thick fuzzy yarn", and yet this is what beginners tend to gravitate to :sigh   Or dark colors - all of those elements make it harder to see what you are doing.  How are you making your stitches?  It looks like you (may) be making stitches between other stitches, not into stitches?   If so, that is a recipe for disaster if you don't compensate for the count.  Are you following a pattern?