Seeking Yarn Recommendation

Cornflake27

Hi! I'm new to crochet, and just finished my first project - a slouchy shell hat using Lion Brand Wool Ease in Gold with a size K hook. I'm looking for a yarn recommendation for a second project.

This is for my dad, who is bald. He's not particularly sensitive, but of course I don't want it to be itchy, either. It needs something washable since there's no hair to take on whatever oils, sweat, etc. Generally, he's pretty casual - t-shirts/hoodies with jeans, or tactical gear.

I'm definitely open to something bulkier if that's the best way to go, but I did try another project with a heavier yarn (I think it was the Wool Ease Thick & Quick) and had a harder time with it. I should maybe stay with the #4 weight and the K hook... It could have been the stitches on that one, or the hook, and not actually the yarn, though.

Anyway, I'm mostly looking for yarn recommendations for this case, but if you have pattern recommendations for a casual guys' hat or tips in general, please help! :) Thank you!

I've used Plymouth Encore https://www.plymouthyarn.com/yarn/encore-worsted-item-611 for a hat for a bald man, it's very soft but wears well and is warm.  The neon orange pretty much qualifies as a hunter orange, if that's of interest.  They don't carry it at the chain stores, but many local yarn shops have it, or you can order it online lots of places.  

Welcome to the Ville!  

3 minutes ago, magiccrochetfan said:

I've used Plymouth Encore https://www.plymouthyarn.com/yarn/encore-worsted-item-611 for a hat for a bald man, it's very soft but wears well and is warm.  The neon orange pretty much qualifies as a hunter orange, if that's of interest.  They don't carry it at the chain stores, but many local yarn shops have it, or you can order it online lots of places.  

Welcome to the Ville!  

Thank you, Kathy! I will check it out. He wants a black or gray, so hopefully it won't be too hard to see what I'm doing. :P