Beginner needs help with granny square instructions for a blanket pattern!!

Benny Lea

Question

So I’m pretty new to crochet and I’m attempting to make a blanket for my grandma. I’ve fallen in love with this specific pattern, the only issue is the instructions for the granny squares are pretty vague and hard for me to comprehend. Can anyone give me a hand? I’ve pretty much only gotten so far as a slip stitch on my hook...

https://www.michaels.com/caron-simply-soft-on-the-plus-side-afghan-crochet/B_47481.html?productsource=projects

6 answers to this question

A granny square is worked in the round, from the center out.

The 'basic anatomy' of  a square is 4 corners, and 4 sides (bear with me, a lot of people have trouble with this on their first granny square, and go wrong right away because they can't 'see' the square, and end up with 3 or 5 corners...).

The anatomy of a side are a series of 3 DCs (US terms), made into 1 space.  I'll call these 'shells' going forward. Shells on a side can have 0, 1, or maybe 2 chains between them, it depends on the pattern and the maker's stitch height tension - more on that later.  The space is either the gap between the shells, or the chain(s) between them; in a granny square you never make a stitch INTO a stitch, except in the process of connecting rounds, and that also depends on the pattern.  You make the granny squares around the space by putting your hook under the space, or into the gap if that makes more sense, instead.

The anatomy of a corner is a shell, some number of chains, and another shell.  The number of chains in the corner is greater than the number of chains between shells on the sides, because you are having to put 6 stitches (2 shells) around them.