Bernat Twinkle Little Star Help

MiMi2015

Question

Hoping somebody can help.  I am trying this pattern http://www.yarnspirations.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-master-catalog-spinrite/default/dw6d218def/PDF/BRC0202-002792M.pdf

I am really confused about the MC instructions, particularly with beg row 3 where the chart comes in.  Do I do 2 dc in each stitch, or do I do 1dc in 2 stitches to make the “block”.  For the space, do I miss one dc for each space as in row 2, or do I just do ch1 1dc in each stitch?  I’m doing something wrong because I cannot keep the right count according to the chart after trying this several ways.  Sorry for the probably basic questions. I’ve never used a chart before and it’s a bit confusing to me.

5 answers to this question

This is an eyelet pattern, where the star shape is made by chaining 1 and skipping 1 DC to make the eyelet holes.  Nowhere are you putting 2 stitches into 1--the stitch count stays the same in each row.  Also, the eyelets begin in row 2, not 3. 

Look at the key for the chart.  Each block on the chart is 2 stitches, either 2 DC (1 DC into each of 2 DCs in the row below) or chain 1, skip 1 DC in the row below and DC into the next DC.  See how the written directions for row 2 starts with 'DC in the next 6 DC--but looking at the chart there are 3 (not 6) grey blocks before the eyelet?  Each grey block is 2 DC.

I have a trick that helps me follow charts like this - I'm old-fashioned and print out my patterns, and I use another piece of paper or flat ruler to cover up the rows of the chart ABOVE the current row I'm working on (I use a clip board to keep the paper/ruler in place).  This way the squares that you can see in the chart match what you've already made--this helps as a double check to ensure you haven't strayed (I hope this makes sense).  This is a fairly simple shape, and the same in both directions so it may be a bit of overkill in this case, but it couldn't hurt.