Help with pattern

kittysue79

Question

Please help, I was given a pattern book for Christmas of zigzag afgans. I am fairly new to crocheting and don't understand patterns really well yet  I figured out one ok and have gotten most of the way through it but there is one i tried for a week straight and everytime I was unable to figure out the pattern. Don't know if i am allowed to post what the pattern is is or name of book and such so any advice is welcome.

17 answers to this question

That's an interesting increase, but it might help to keep it flatter/turn more sharply.

I don't know what else to suggest, I know for me I really do have to count all.the.time on ripples, not just check every few rows.

I suspect that ripples with gaps in them might be easier to 'eyeball' the counts (like the pink one, or blue/pink/yellow/green/white one in your book), but haven't tested that theory. 

I agree with GS in that counting is critical.  When I'm doing a ripple, I count the sides as 1-up, 2-up, 3up, etc. and 1-down, 2-down, 3-down, etc.  I say that out loud.  At the end of EVERY row, I recount the stitches to make sure that every side has the correct count and that the peaks and valleys are lined up.  It's a pain, but well worth it in the end.

Oops, thanks for catching me Redrosesdz....and now Kittysue and you are posting as I'm typing LOL.

erase erase

I was going to suggest marking your stitches at every center hilltop and valley.  Seriously, you really have to count each and every section.  It's not a factor of being new to crochet-- I've been crocheting for decades, have made a couple of  ripples and messed up and ripped both of them back a few rows here and there as I got lazy counting.