help in pattern

Edgerallenpoedameron

Question

Hi I'm new here thanks for looking at my thread. I'm trying to make this: http://stitchingupastormcrochet.blogspot.com/2012/01/star-wars-twilek-hat-pattern.html

The 2nd row it says:

Round 2:  Ch 3, DC in same stitch.  2 DC in each stitch around, Join with a slip stitch to end round.

What does in the same stich mean, which stitch? The 3rd chain? the 1st? A different one?  I'm brand new at crocheting only made a small amigurumi thus far.  Thanks

14 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!

Have you done DC before?  (I'm speaking in US terms).  Most amigurumis are done in SC, and in the round.

When you work flat and turn each row, you need to bring the yarn up to the level of the next row.  If you are working in the round in a spiral, you don't have to do that, you just keep going round and round...

Bringing the yarn up to the next row level is called a turning chain. It counts as a stitch in most cases.

For SC, the turning chain is chain 1 at the end of the row (or round that is not worked into a spiral), and work into the first stitch.  The turning chain does not count as a stitch.

For DC, the turning chain is chain 3 at the end of the row (or round that is not worked into a spiral), and work into the second stitch.  The turning chain counts as a stitch--this is why you skip the first stitch and make your first 'real'DC into the second stitch, because the chain-3 'acts' like it is using up the space of the first stitch from the row below.

Oh dear, Hi Magic!  (we often post at the same time) :hi

Oops, meant to also say: so your instruction is telling you to chain 3 and DC in the same stitch = it means the first stitch, because the chain is acting like it is in the first stitch.  Your directions will give you the equivalent of 2 stitches into each stitch from the row below.