Going above the back loop only

Opisthenar

Question

Crochet newbie here, attempting to make my second hat. The first bunch of rows is back loop only, forming a sort of stretchy ribbed bit at the base of the hat. I've done that fine, but am finding it stupidly difficult to figure out where the stitches are supposed to go above. There seems to be two gaps of different sizes in each of my last back loop stitches, but regardless of whether I stitch in both or just one it ends up uneven with different sized stitches and looking like a general mess.

I don't have a working camera right now to take a photo of my attempt thus far, but I've included a link to the pattern below. Despite spending ages zoomed in on the picture on the pattern of where they've joined the double crochets to the back loops, I've not been able to work out where I put the hook in.

Link to pattern: http://www.allaboutami.com/post/98723324906/cabledslouchybeanie

5 answers to this question

So, you have a length of ribbing, each rib is made up of 2 rows of sc.  The pattern said 75 rows, which is an odd number and sort of odd (peculiar) for sewing together, I'd have done an even number so the ends match better--odd number= /\/\/, even number= /\/\/\.

The number of DCs she is telling you to put along the side is 72.  (Note - this is true if your gauge, and your head, is the same as the designer; you may have to make changes to fit your head, but I'm going with these numbers).  This is 3 fewer stitches than 75.  What I'd be inclined to do is put a stitch into each row end, but in 3 spots evenly spaced around, make a decrease (DC 2 stitches together).  The alternative would be to skip 3 row ends, but I think using up all the row ends, and discreetly decreasing, would look better.