Double stitch - tooo tight

auntbubbels

Question

I am new to crochetting and this site. I started a blanket and completed more than half of it but found that the first row, although I started it loose, became very tight after crochetting a number of rows. The blanket doesnt lay flat. I find that when I am crochetting scarves, the same thing happens but its not as noticable because there are less stitches across.

I was going to do a granny square and just continue it and have that be the entire blanket. Any idea why my blankets first row becomes tight. it doesnt get tight right away. I hope I explained this and it make sense.

7 answers to this question

Hi, What's happening is that you are getting anxious as you crochet. Your hand starts pulling the hook and yarn tighter, so your gauge is off. You might also start slow and easy then go faster, pulling the stitches tighter. If you're a beginner, this is a common problem.

Tension must remain even, but this takes practice. Relax! Keep a cup of tea near by. Every so often, take a sip. This way, your hands can do alternate movement.

PaganBaby69

It could be that it is happening in the reverse for you. You are tense and anxious as you start, trying to make sure that everything is perfect, and as you go, you feel more comfortable with the pattern and your stitches become looser. The best thing to do if this happens regularly to you is to do practice swatches so that you are comfortable with the stitch before you even start the main project. You could also start with a slightly larger hook for the first 1-2 rows and then go down to the recommended hook size.

Make sure that your CHAIN is not too tight because if it is, it will make your crochet look like it is narrower at that edge.

The edge does not get tighter after you do more rows, it is the looser rows which make the start look like it is getting tighter.

Use a bigger hook just for the chain and that should overcome the problem.