Beginner turning chain question

Pamela E

Question

I am very new to crochet and trying to make a simple rectangle cat pad. The pattern says chain 44 loosely. R -1 DC in 4th chain from hook and in each chain across.

Row2- Chain 3 (counts as first DC) turn, DC in next DC and in each DC across.

Question: If chain 3 counts as 1 DC do I add that to the 44 chains and chain 45? Each time I do a row I'm getting a different # of stitches - 41, 42, 43. Is there a specific rule for regarding chain stitches and chaining #'s?

I hope this makes sense. Thanks for the help.

7 answers to this question

welcome to the ville!

Just do exactly what the pattern says, do not make extra chains.  You should have 42 stitches.  You chain 44 and the first 3 chains represent one double crochet stitch.  that leave 41 chain stitches that you will make dc stitches into.  So your total # of stitches should be 42.  

It looks like your pattern has not included some important info:  since that chain 3 at the beginning of each row counts as a dc, you are supposed to make a stitch into the top of it as you work back across the row.  it can help to put a marker in the top of the chain3 as soon as you make it so that you don't overlook it.  you can use a short piece of yarn, a bobby pin, or a safety pin as a marker.

here is a tutorial about turning chains, why we need them and 2 different approaches.  http://www.crochetspot.com/crochet-basics-understanding-turning-chains/

as she points out, when the turning chain counts as a stitch, you do not make another stitch into that first stitch which the turning chain arises out of.  thats why the pattern says "Chain 3 (counts as first DC) turn, DC in next DC"

Welcome to Crochetville!