Total beginner gauge Question

Tattyhead35

Question

Hi all, I started crocheting at Christmas as I needed a hobby to help reduce my stress levels. I have just purchased my first crochet pattern, it's a cardigan in classique cotton yarn. I need help with working out the tension/gauge. The pattern tells me I need 18 stiches to 12 rows, but I'm struggling to understand do I use a standard double stitch or do I follow the pattern and use the same 4 rows of stiches that make up the pattern. Sorry if this seems a really basic question but I've tried looking on you tube etc and I'm now really confused ???? thanks in advance

3 answers to this question

Welcome to Crochetville!

A cardigan is pretty ambitious for a beginner.  Does the pattern say it's for beginners?  If it says "Easy", then it assumes you've made beginner projects before.  Beginner projects are usually squares, like dishcloths, rectangles, like scarfs or rounds, like coasters, hats, cozies and baskets.  There are 4 skill levels... beginner, easy, intermediate and difficult.

To make a gauge, use the yarn that you're going to use for the project.  Start with the hook size that the pattern recommends.  Do a swatch using the same stitches as the pattern.  Make the swatch at least 5" wide and 5" tall.  Using a ruler, measure the middle 4 inches.  Count the stitches across in those 4 inches.  Now measure the middle 4 inches for the height.  Count the rows in those stitches.  This is your gauge for that hook size, yarn and pattern.

If you have more stitches/rows than the pattern, go up a hook size.  If you have fewer stitches/rows than the pattern, go down a hook size.  With the new hook size repeat the swatch.  Repeating the swatch is important!!  Keep making swatches until your gauge matches or is close to the pattern.

^ what she said.  Usually if the pattern has more than 1 stitch, it will tell you to use 1 stitch or the other for the gauge swatch, but if it doesn't say, use the pattern stitch.