Afghan help needed

jkoucheki

Question

Hi - I am new to crocheting and started an afghan with  LionBrand Wool-Ease Thick and Quick.  I'm using a size 10mm hook since it's recommend that as a new crocheter you use one hook size bigger than the recommended to allow for a little looser stitches.  

I decided to make this afghan using the double crochet stitch.  My issue is that I'm just getting started on the 4th row and my afghan is very wavy and will not lie flat.  I THINK this is because my chain is much tighter than the next rows, but I'm hoping someone might be able to confirm.  Also - is there anyway to straighten this out without unraveling?  If I just keep going any idea what this will end up looking like??

I've attached a picture.

Any advice or thoughts would be appreciated.

Janine

post-77232-0-23648600-1457286545_thumb.jpg

5 answers to this question

Hello and welcome to the 'ville!

Is this a plain DC pattern back and forth, nothing else fancy going on?  There were a couple of spots where I wasn't sure, but it may be due to the waviness.

There may be a couple of things going on.

First, a lot of us make chains that are tighter than the rest of our stitches, and there are a couple of ways to fix this - the easiest is to use a larger size hook for the chain only, then switch to the 'right' size for the rest of the piece.

Another solution for a tight chain - there are several spots in a chain that you can use to make your stitches into.

(1) If you look at a chain from the back side, there is the 'back bump'.  Using the back bump makes a nicest looking edge, but it also pulls the chain tighter, so this is where a bigger hook for the chain-only would come in.

(2) If you look at the chain from the front, you can use the top loop only (this is the way I was taught long ago).  This isn't as nice looking, but it is tension-neutral.