Correct Chain Length for Adjusting Width of an Existing Afghan Pattern

Squirt

Question

I just have a question. While I'm new to Crochetville, (love the site by the way) I've been crocheting for years. My question is about a base chain length, I usually find a pattern that I like for afghans and change it around the way I like it and make blankets. My problem is this: How do I figure out the number of base chain stitches for the size I'm making at the time so that the pattern design will be complete without having less/more chain stitches than I need. I know there's probably a simple equation to figure this out and feel really silly asking it! So I sucked it up and decideed to ask regardless. Most of the time I just use trail & error, which is really frustrating. So if you can help, please! And thank you in advance. Squirt

6 answers to this question

Hi, welcome!

What i do is make the chain about the length i want the blanket to be wide, then add about 10% more chains. Work the pattern to the width you want and just ignore the unused chains, to undo them later and weave in the yarn end.

Welcome to Crochetville!

Kathy's method is much easier than the math.  But, just in case you want to do the math...

(# stitches in the pattern x # of patterns to get the width) + (# of stitches per side x 2) + # of stitches in the turning chain (for the starting stitch)

To figure out the # of patterns to get the width, crochet a swatch with the pattern x 3.  Measure the middle pattern to get the width of 1 pattern.  Divide your total width by the size of 1 pattern and round up.

Another vote for the method in post 2.  I do that even when I'm following a pattern with a large given number of chains, I'll do the number the pattern calls for and then add 10.  I'd rather pick out 9 chains than realize I'd miscounted 1 short .....