Graph pattern question

gapeach519

Question

Hi there, new here and have a question.  I am fairly new to crochet.  I've made a few blankets and a few hats.  I recently watched a video on youtube about making a graph in paint so I thought I would give it a try and make my boys a Seahawks blanket.  I pulled the attached picture into paint and magnified the pixels by 800%  Each pixel should have been a single crochet stitch.  I made my graph 256 stitches by 256 stitches and expected my blanket to come out relatively square.  Now I know my SC are not square.  LOL  My blanket was wider than it was long so I had to add the word 'SEAHAWKS' to the top.  I managed to save the blanket and am actually quite pleased with how it turned out. But you can tell that the actual blanket design is a little distorted.  So, my question is, how do I make graphs in the future and guarantee they will be to scale?  Does that make sense? 

post-76508-0-25420400-1449456179.jpg

post-76508-0-43482100-1449456515_thumb.jpg

8 answers to this question

Wow!  It doesn't look wonky in the picture.  It's very impressive, especially for someone fairly new to crochet!  Seeing the picture I would have thought it was done by someone with years of experience.  It's really stunning!!

There are calculators, like http://stitchboard.com/pages/pattern/freePatternWizard.php, that will convert a picture into a graph for yarn/thread creations.  There is also downloadable crochet graph paper, like at the bottom of http://tapestrycrochet.com/

The thing about crochet is that it is always on a bias.  If you're right-handed, then the right side of your work will be slanted to the right.  When you turn, it evens out the bias.  However, the stitches are not right on top of each other.  They're more like ...

///////////

\\\\\\\\\\\

///////////

\\\\\\\\\\\