Magic Ring Help

viv11

Question

This is the start of the pattern:

Rnd 1: 6 sc into a magic ring
Rnd 2: [1 inc] x 6 (12)
Rnd 3: [1 sc, 1 inc] x 6 (18)

Note that I am basically a complete beginner.

So I make a magic ring and make 6 single crochet stitches. Then I join it with the first stitch that I made so that it becomes a circle. The first problem, is that I don't know where to actually put the crochet in to actually increase(I can't tell where each stitch is). I did try doing round 2 but it doesn't seem to be going anywhere. Are you supposed to end a round.?

If there are specific videos, I would be very appreciative. Thanks.

Please reply as soon possible.

5 answers to this question

some patterns work in continuous rounds. stitch markers can help you know the first stitch in a round www.planetjune.com has a  magic ring tutorial

Welcome to the 'ville!

I have to say that there are some blogs/websites that have well written, and conventionally written patterns, and a lot that have either poorly written, or unconventionally written patterns that someone with some experience could easily figure out.

This is an unconventionally written pattern that I think is not the best for a complete newbie.

Can you link to the pattern?  There are a lot of common 'things' that have a zillion patterns out there, perhaps we could find a pattern for a similar thing that is better written.

Meanwhile, this site is really excellent for tutorials - some but not all video, many step by step photo tutorials and well written.  I've linked to the tutorial menu page, lots to learn here!

http://www.crochetcabana.com/html/tutorials.html

some patterns work in continuous rounds. stitch markers can help you know the first stitch in a round www.planetjune.com has a  magic ring tutorial

I don't currently have stitch markers so I am using safety pins. What do you do to start the next round?