Pattern help - Shawl

Ther

Question

Hello lovely crochet people!  :hi  

I started crocheting just last year so I'm still quite new to it.

This time I want to make a shawl (which I've never tried before) and I need some help on reading a pattern... You can find it here: http://www.craftown.com/crochet/pat51.htm?page_number=2

In fact, I have trouble with the very first step:

Instructions for Shawl: 

Row 1; Beginning at center back top edge, ch 7; dc in 7th ch from hook, (ch 3, dc in same ch) 4 times - 5 sps. Ch 5, turn.

Can someone please translate that for me? (Before I make a wild guess, I'd like someone to explain it in detail to me.)

That'd be very kind!

Thank you very much in advance for any help!

Regards,

Ther

4 answers to this question

They mean you are going to work each side from the center of the shawl.  So you chain 7, then make 1 double crochet in the first chain you made.  Then you chain 3, then make a dc in the same place.  Repeat the part in the parentheses 4 times.  that will make 5 spaces.  Then you chain 5, turn.

Hi Ther, welcome to the ville!

I just want to share with you some thoughts.  I often find it much easier to follow a pattern that has a diagram of symbols showing the construction, how the stitches fit together to make the object.  here is an explanation of diagrammed patterns  https://www.anniescatalog.com/crochet/content.html?content_id=708&type_id=S&scat_id=3    I like these because  I prefer to have visual info, so I can easily see and understand how the item is made.