Shaded Triangle Magic Scarf

Jessica Tropiano

Question

16 answers to this question

Thank you very much. I will do what you say and let you know. I am a self-taught crocheter for the most part. A

Nun teacher I had in high school started me way back when. Hadn't crocheted in 43 years..picked a crochet hook up 2 years ago and I

am obsessed! Much to my husband's chagrin. Hey, I could have picked up much worse "habits"

I'll post a pic when I follow your instructions.

Thanks.

Jessica

magiccrochetfan explained it much better than I could have!  

Hey!  What better obsession could there possibly be?!  Happy crocheting!

I read along further, it will form a triangle, I think you didn't go far enough to notice something changed in row 5.  At the end of row 3 and 4 you have the same amount of stitches.  At the end of row 5, you have 1 less sc and 1 less ch-1 space.  So if you repeat row 4 and 5 fourteen times as it says, at the end of row 35 you have only 2 chains and 1 sc.

The stitch counts given at the end of rows & 5 are only true of the first iterations of those rows, the counts will be less and less each time you repeat them.

Thanks to everyone for their help.

I have crochet and recrocheted the first five rows about six times. I have given up. The crocheting looks fine...thanks to all of you for explaining.

There still is no triangle in sight! And looking ahead in the pattern, there does not  seem to be any instructions that will make it

look like a triangle. I hate to say this, but I may be giving up.(at least for now)

Thanks again for all of your help.

In row 2, you turned the work as Magiccrochetfan described and worked a stitch in the side, then turned again and worked along the underneath side of the chain, then turned again and you are ready to work across the top of row 1.