Stuck on pattern... Please Help

julie72

Question

Hi all,

I am new to crochet and have been practising doing plenty of granny squares, circles and scarves. I felt brave enough to try a pattern and am stuck - so I'm hoping someone will be able to help.

By the looks of it - many patterns are similar, so it is most likely something totally obvious, of which I am missing.

Basically, I was following this pattern:

http://freevintagecrochet.com/vest-patterns/jackfrost75/easy-crochet-vest

I chained on 108 stitches and then did Row 1 and Row 2, of which I repeated 27 rows of like the pattern says. HOWEVER, I couldn't work out what this piece was supposed to be, as it then goes on to say the right front, left front and back. 

I thought I'd sussed it, but wasn't sure if where it said for the right front, row 1 - whether I was supposed to just carry on where I was (as the pattern didn't say to fasten off). This I did and it seemed to look ok (with formation for arm  hole and shoulder bit). However, then when it came to the left front it says to attach yarn in the 5th SC of front edge. This I did EXCEPT wasn't sure how I could tell what was the front edge? Front edge of what? From where?

Anyway - I did this, and then I continued with the back. Thought I'd got it sorted until I tried to put the shoulder seams together and basically unless you have a back that measures about 2 metres wide and one arm that is 54 times bigger than the other one, then I have done something fundamentally wrong....

I have obviously started the left front in the wrong place, but I can't work out how you are supposed to know where to attach it. I am now left with a rather strange looking object of which I want to unpick the back and left/right fronts, but even it I do that, then I'm still not sure how to go about it correctly.