Granny Goes Ripple

Amanda May

Question

I'm new to crocheting and was working along this "easy" blanket pattern without incident, until I got to the edging. The instructions for the last row tell me not to turn the work, then the edging starts with

side 1: Attach color A in last st made, 3 sc in same st, *2 sc over side of dc, sc in top of dc, 2 sc over 4 ch, sc in top of dc*, 2 sc over dc, sc in dc, repeat from * to* to last dc, 2 sc over last ch, 3 sc in 3rd ch.

I am working into the side of my rows, so kind of vertically almost. I'm stuck on the "over side of" and "in top of." What is the difference between "over" and "in"? And, later in the pattern, when working into the foudation side, the directions say "under" too:

2 sc over ch under 3 dc

I'm lost! Any help with "over", "under" and "in" would be much appreciated.

6 answers to this question

welcome to the ville !  

over side of means to work into the post of the stitch, or around the post of the stitch...usually this is kind of up to you, do what you think looks best.   in top of means into the top section of the stitch, where you would normally insert the hook except youare approaching it from the side instead of from above.  

when they say the chain under the stitch, you will be working into the foundation chain into which you made the first row.  you will be working into the bottom of the chain.  

Crochetcabana has a tutorial that may help visualize it http://www.crochetcabana.com/html/emb_borders.html