Wonky giant granny square blanket

Calstugre

Question

Hi. I'm a total crochet beginner so please forgive me if this is a silly question! My first crochet project, learning from You Tube and my blanket is going wonky! What am I doing wrong? My tension is the same I think and I'm using dk wool and 4mm hook. I'll try and attach a photo... Any help gratefully appreciated. Thanks

16 answers to this question

Thank you for your help. I'm especially liking the idea of my wonky blanket being that way on purpose. If I'd tried to do it like this I'll bet it wouldn't have worked! I'll keep going and let you see a pic when it's finished. Wonder how it'll end up!

Thank you Avon lady. I hope it doesn't turn out too well cause I could never do it again unless I've got a wonky technique or something lol! I'm thinking the only thing it could be is that the scraps I'm using are of a different thickness of yarn.

I'm beginning to think the yarn may be the culprit, also!  One of my "Girls" (I teach a crochet class in a local Senior Center!! :lol ) made an afghan out of scrap yarn and it was all irregular like that because of the yarn sizes and types!!

I was going to suggest counting the stitches, too. The dark groups look like one side has one less cluster than the others.

I still have to count my stitches when making grannies!

And I agree with the others....it's a creative way of making grannies less boring! ;)

Thank you Avon lady. I hope it doesn't turn out too well cause I could never do it again unless I've got a wonky technique or something lol! I'm thinking the only thing it could be is that the scraps I'm using are of a different thickness of yarn.

Well, I think you should just go ahead like you said and finish it, whichever ways it's going!  You'll have a very unique blanket!