Please help, having trouble with "gauge"

becky72

Question

I'm not a new crocheter but I am new to patterns.  I've been making blankets, rugs and scarves for years but gauge isn't always an important factor.  

I tried my first pattern the other day, a dog sweater.  Seemed easy enough.  I measured my swatch and it was pretty much right on with the instructions.  Needless to say by the time I was done, the sweater for my cocker spaniel will now fit a great dane.  

I have noticed that even some of my blankets end up wider at one end but I donate them to our local nursing homes and animal shelter so they don't need to be perfect and they're always accepted with kind hearts.

I'm preparing for knee surgery and I would like to start another sweater, this time for me, while I'm recovering. 

Does anyone have any advice or suggestions for checking gauge.

Thanks bunches!!!! :flake

4 answers to this question

Make your swatch bigger than the area you will measure.  often gauge is given for 4" x 4" so you want to crochet about 6" x 6", then measure the central 4 inch square and count stitches there.  Record the size hook you used for the swatch.  (then don't be like me and ignore your own notes and thereby screw up your first go at the garment! lol)  

Wash and dry the swatch in the same way you will the finished item.  Measure after this.  this is called blocking.  

As you crochet the final piece, keep checking your gauge, if the exact measurements are really crucial.  For garments, i like to try them on as i go; if it fits it doesn't really matter what the gauge is.  a top-down, one piece design is helpful for this.  if using a pattern that is made in pieces, i would lay the piece against a well-fitting garment that is similar, to check if it will fit right.  If your swatch changed a lot after blocking, you can block the garment as you go to be sure it is correct gauge.