I'm Confused!

I've been crocheting for about 9 months and I've made mostly scarves and afghans. I enjoy working the hook and it's really helped keep my mind off of my separation and (maybe) divorce. :cry

My work is really starting to look nice :bow and I want to make some gifts for Christmas.

BUT... I'm driving myself nuts and getting all confused. :think

I'm having trouble matching up types of yarn, colors, and patterns and I end up spending HOURS in Michaels going thru different yarns. :eek I end up leaving with NOTHING! :grump

And forget it if I go thru a yarn catalog! :loco

:huh How do you keep all your enthusiasm reined in, get a plan together, and then finish your project?

Well, I do a lot of small projects, fingerless gloves (got a bunch of patterns , hats, christmas / halloween decorations. I've started a sampler afghan, hmm, lots of other projects on the go.

I get confused sometimes, with worsted weight, sport weight, etc. I usually don't go by the yarn brand mentioned in a pattern, but get the right weight yarn. ($$) But, I think something to remember is for a project, make sure the yarn is the same weight, and that you like how the colors look together. I very rarely use the colors specified.

If i have a certain project in mind, I'll bring the pattern to wal-mart, or whever i want to get the yarn from, and make sure its' the right size, amount, or whatever.

the problem i have is remembering different crochet cotton sizes.

I've been crocheting for a few years now, and have a quilted crochet hook case, (bought from lewiscraft) and have slowly gathered the commonly used hooks. I get a feeling of satisfaction from opening my crochet hook case, and seeing that it's almost full! (two more spots to fill):cheer Yep, I'm a nerd. lol.