Is this a chainless pattern? So confused! Please help!

SnuffyPop

Question

Hello friends! I am brand new to this board and pretty new to crocheting. I am still learning new stitches and patterns. I have a new one that I am so confused on. I think it's chainless, and I've never worked one of those. I'm so confused so any help would be much appreciated!!!

Thank you!!!

Kris

Ch 2

In the first ch, sc 3 times

Sc in each of the 3 sc

Sc 3

In the next stitch (which was the first sc of the previous sc 3) 2sc. This is going to increase your row by one.

Sc 2 more for a total of 4 stitches. (4)

13 answers to this question

WElcome to the ville:hook

Agree with Becky, seeing the whole pattern would help a lot.

to me it appears there are some instructions missing, such as turning and making a turning chain, but I may be envisioning it wrong.  

I agree, I was thinking that some instructions were missing (turning being one). This is a baby cocoon. The bottom of the cocoon is sort of s triangle or tip. The pattern belongs to someone else so I am unable to post the entire thing. That is just the beginning, but hoping to get some input on how to start.

well, we can't ever post an entire pattern because of copyright and forum guidelines ---that is unless the poster holds the copyright.  

Is this pattern in a book, or from a blog, purchased on etsy, or what?  Someone else may have a copy of it to refer to if it is a purchased pattern.  

If you typed it exactly as it is in the pattern, then it seems to be written in a non-standard way.  As you read through the whole pattern, does the rest of it make sense to you?  Is there anything at the beginning like, turn and chain one at the end of every row?  

Are you making two flat triangles that will be seamed together to make the cocoon?  Or do you think it is made in the round?  

The "increases your row by one" makes it sound worked flat.