Perfect Pony pattern question

junie's mom

Question

Has anyone made the 'Perfect Pony' pattern available on the web?

http://members.optusnet.com.au/we2/perfectpony.html

I am desperately trying to make 3 of these and have hit a snag. On the body part of the pattern (neck/body), row 16 doesn't make a lot of sense to me or my crocheting friends. I have looked for a correction to the pattern but cannot find one.

If any of you crocheting experts can help me understand that part of the pattern, I would greatly appreciate it.

My nieces want a pony and a zebra and since I can't find a free zebra pattern for crocheting, I figured I would alter this pattern for her. I'm stuck and even though I've been crocheting for 40 years, can't seem to figure it out!

HELP!!:eek:thair

18 answers to this question

I think the chain is the pony's back, and you crochet down one side of chain around the neck (row 15) then down the opposite side of chain, and continue in rounds from there. So your rounds will be the back and chest of the pony to the tummy which you sew closed.

I made this a few years ago. It is as stated in the other posts. You start by making the neck part by going around for 15 rnds, then do the chain and go back across the chain, then work around the stitches that  you already did, then  work on the other side of the chain . You will now be making the body off of the neck. It looks strange when doing it but does work out. 

I don’t know of anywhere else to find the pattern except the now OOP magazine it came from. It is on line but unfortunately the one who put it is not the designer and she doesn't even give the proper credit.
In the last photo I have turned it to show where you start the chain from the neck and how you will be working to get the body.

Another thing I forgot to mention. when you are doing the rounds they don't start and end even like a lot of patterns do so you have to follow the numbers instead.

Welcome to Crochetville!