Another newbie

silvermoon42

Hey everyone! Another newbie here that wants to learn to knit. I've been crocheting for almost 3 years, mostly just baby blankets and what not. I bought some knitting hooks (I mean needles, lol...my bad) and a "learn to knit" book and just haven't gotten too far.

I think I'll do better with videos to watch...have looking at knittinghelp but didn't find it to be much help, lol :(

I was thinking of starting with a chunky yarn as I thought it may be easier to work with so I can kind of "exaggerate" my stitches and really see where I'm going...but thats about as far as I've gotten, lol :lol

I'm sure you've heard this a million time, but I'll take any tips and tricks anyone has concerning knitting and any sites that might help me out. I'd really like to learn but don't have anyone to teach me (I also taught myself to crochet)

Thanks for your time and thanks for any help you can offer! :hug

:hug Welcome to the group. If you have a Michaels or Hobby Lobby nearby they might offer classes. Local yarn stores are also a great resource for actual hands on help. I once stopped in for a drop spindle and was given a free lesson in spinning on the spot!

I am kind of lost on the 'knitting hooks' but i am going to just guess you meant needles and go from there LOL

I have been only knitting for a year and I have come a long way , so You can too!! go to the local library and pick up somebooks there, to go thru and see which style of learning book works best for you. Knittinghelp.com is priceless And if I may be so bold as to suggest something....Start learning on a yarn such as a skien of Red Heart yarn. Less fuzz to fight thru, and so much easier to see what you are doing, thus making it easier to learn how your stitches should look and be able to see errors such as twisting and dropping. This is what got me over that final ' knitting bump; because I figured bulky would be better, yet it was such a struggle for me to see what I had been doing.