New Rows

beefcrochets

Question

For all practical purposes, I'm still a crochet novice. I understand my knitting patterns much better than I do my crochet patterns,but I continually try crochet. I still become frustrated when it's time for a new row and I can't tell where my last stitch ended. I've tried putting a safety pin in that spot, but some how I'll end up with more stitches. For instance, last night I crocheted a little purse, but I still couldn't figure out the writing of one of the patterns. The lines kept saying: hdc in each hdc, slp st 1 in top of previous ch 2, sl st 1, ch2. I didn't understand where I was supposed to slp st the second time and why. It kept giving me extra stitches and then I was confused.

Is there an easier way for me to count how many stitches I have in a row? How can I decipher a pattern like that? Is there an online reference for abbreviations that is more comprehensive than the ones I found? If anyone is familiar with knittinghelp.com, I'm looking for something similar to that. THANKS!

4 answers to this question

That does sound confusing. Is this a free pattern than you can post a link to? Or, if not, can you post a link to a picture of the pattern so we have a better idea of what the purse looks like? Also, might help if you could type out the row above and the row below - maybe if we can see where this is supposed to go we'll be able to help. :)

It sounds like you are working in rounds.

I think it is a bit oddly written. It would be more usual to have the instructions read: "ch 2, skip next hdc, hdc in each hdc across, sl st in top of previous chain 2".

The chain 2 counts as a stitch in this pattern.

Because the chain 2 counts as a stitch, taking the place of the first stitch on your row or round, you normally don't make a stitch in to the first hdc, because then you will be making an increase.

slp st 1 in top of previous ch 2 = you are joining the end of the round to the beginning.