How Many Squares For Baby Afghan

alibra

Question

I am making a baby afghan with squares that are 5 inches how many do I need to make a decent size baby afghan...any help is greatly appreciated.

4 answers to this question

I am making a baby afghan with squares that are 5 inches how many do I need to make a decent size baby afghan...any help is greatly appreciated.

I would suggest at least 49 = that is 7 squares X 7 squares as that would get you a 35 inch ghan to which you would want to add at least a one half inch border. (making a 36 inch blankie)

Crib Blankies generally start at around 36 inches but could be larger. If you did 63 squares, you would get a 9 X 7 or 45" X 35" blankie.

Darski...you are the best, thank you so much, you know it's funny I have been crocheting since I was about 9 years old and have never made a granny square blanket...boy the squares whip up fast..this could be my new favorite thing..ha!. I appreciate your help more than you know...

Darski...you are the best, thank you so much, you know it's funny I have been crocheting since I was about 9 years old and have never made a granny square blanket...boy the squares whip up fast..this could be my new favorite thing..ha!. I appreciate your help more than you know...

Granny squares are really wonderful. You take the very same stitches and by just changing the order of the colours and you have a completely different blanket.

I remember one I did once (and this is about 30 years ago) where I did a kind of 9-patch style where 5 squares in a "block" would be yellow and the other 4 squares would be varigated yellow and then the next "block" would have the reverse. I made that with 270 squares in about 3 days. Couldn't do that these days but it sure was fun and was beautiful. I still remember that one after all these years which tells you of the joy of grannies. :hug