Felting w/ different yarns

Dawn

I have a silly question. I've never felted before, so I'm clueless. I want to make a bag of some sort and I have 6 skeins of patons classic wool. I was thinking of making the well traveled bag and it requires more yarn than I have. There is no place locally to buy the patons yarn, but I do have a walmart where I can get lion brand yarn. Can I combine the two in one pattern? Will they felt the same way? As I said, I'm new to felting so any help would be great. I also found some moda dea cartwheel at the dollar store and was wondering how that felted? Thanks in advance for the help.

ok first you need to make sure your yarn is not superwash if it is it won't felt. 100% wool

As far as adding the 2 types together you need to make a swatch (same size and stitches and hook) of each measuring before and after. If they are both the same size after felting then you can work with them together but if they aren't you can't because your item would be shaped crazy because one felted one way and the other another way.

You can make the well traveled bag as big or small as you want or until you run out of yarn also. :) I know it is supposed to be a bigger bag but if you run out and don't have access to get more then what can you do?

HTH.

Ah, a swatch....why didn't I think of that. That would certainly give me the answer. Thanks.

I would adjust the pattern, but I dont know how.

Dawn

Have you tried Knitting Warehouse.com. They have Patons Classic Merino Wool Yarn for $4.65 a skein and loads of colors to pick from.

http://store.knitting-warehouse.com/yarn-patons-classic-merino-wool.html

And Joanns Fabrics they Patons Classic Merino Wool Yarn for $4.99 a skein

http://www.joann.com/catalog.jhtml?CATID=88320&PRODID=85778.