bushy stitch help

mslilypond

Question

I am doing the 63 squares for a heirloom afghan, and am being confused by square 13 - the bushy stitch

http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o130/mslilypond/bushystitchrow1.jpg

the above is a link to a pic of the first row of my bushy stitch,

I've indicated with words and arrows (black) of what I am pretty sure are the chain spaces. the orange arrows with ?'s are my question, are those considered chain spaces when I start row two?

the pattern reads:

row 1(right side): (DC, Ch2, sc) in fourth chain from hook, *skip next 2 chs, (2 dc,ch2, sc) in next ch: repeat from * across

Row 2: Ch 2, turn: (2 dc, ch 2, sc) in first ch-2 sp and in each ch-2 sp across.

I've frogged this thing so many times it's not funny.

Thanks for any help!:D

7 answers to this question

I'm giving this a go, although I'm not good at looking at pics and seeing what's wrong...

However, I'm working this up and my swatch looks different. Are you *sure* you've done row one correctly?

I don't think the black arrows are pointing to the chain spaces that are for the second row, if that's what you intended to do.

The orange arrow on the left should point a little more to the right...and up a bit. That's the chain two, I think.

And the way mine's working up, the orange arrow on the right is not needed...no stitch goes there.

Can't wait till someone else comes along and tells you what you *really* need to know...like, the answer. :lol

OK - I've been looking at it for a bit. I don't think your black arrows are pointing to the chain 2 spaces and that is what is messing you up. The row 2 instructions are referring to the ch2 spaces from row 1, not from the foundation row of chains you started with. So, the chain 2 spaces should be in-between your 2dc and the sc from row 2. Does that make sense?