Nervous about teaching

So...i wouldn't say i'm a beginner...well maybe i'm more of an advanced beginner...i've been crocheting for a long time, but i do all the same stitches and stuff lol...nothing too challenging. But a friend at work asked me to teach her how to crochet and i haven't the foggest clue how to teach! I taught myself when i was like 11...ive tried to teach others, but they weren't as interested as they thought they'd be so it kinda fell through.

basically i'm wondering how to start out, like what some beginning lessons would be. and also, what would be a good starter project?

any suggestions are appreciated!

Lee Ann

If I were in your shoes, I'd start out with a very small and simple project....like a dishcloth. Something that won't be so overwhelming to a beginner, who may get easily frustrated. A dishcloth with single and double crochet is good for starters.....just to get the hang of the stitches and for good practice. Some beginners just find it intimidating just to learn to do the chains.....so have plenty of patience and go slow and explain slow and be prepared to do a lot of repeating.

I've taught a few people how to crochet. When I was doing classes I used to get really unmotivated beforehand, but I think that was more because people pay for classes but want to sit and have you do it for them. The one on one tutorials i've done with friends went well. I'd say start with a simple project like a face cloth like Daisy said. Or you could ask them if there was something they wanted to learn (shells, granny squares..etc). Find out if they are left handed or not. If they are you should sit across from them, as left handed crochet is pretty much a mirror image of right handed. If they are right handed sit next to them.

Be confident and it will be fun.

Good luck :)