Question about a poncho!

saraecalhoun

Question

Hi! This is my first post on here, and I hope to be back many times to come! I found this great poncho pattern on a website, from crochetpatterncentral.com. It's really a great place to get patterns!

So I have a question to anyone who's been doing this longer than I have... I'm new to crocheting, and although I know all the stitches and everything makes complete sense, I can't seem to figure this out... I'm making this poncho for my mom for christmas. I know she's a little broader than I am, but still, I know it's going to be way too big... I think it will slip off her shoulders! Any advice on perhaps a way to make it alittle snugger on the shoulders... should I add onto the first row (the chain) and make some singles, while skiping a few stitches? would that help bring it in a little, to make it alittle snugger on the shoulders? Anyway, if anyone can follow what i'm talking about, I'd be very glad for some advice! Thank you!!

9 answers to this question

If you can post a link to the pattern so that we can see the construction method, that would help us with our advice. If you are unsure how to post a link. Click the web address (of the pattern page) to highlight it, right click and select Copy. Then in the message window here (on crochetville), click the createlink.gif button and right click in the text area of the new window and select Paste and OK.

Then we can see exactly what you are working on and give you the best advice possible.

great, I have a link right here...

Posh poncho

See how it fits on her shoulders? Mine definitely sits much lower, I'm affraid too low. I just need to figure out how to taper it back in at the top a few rows... any suggestions? I'm about half way done with it! I wish I had a digital camera or else I'd show my work too. Oh yeah, and basically I just used a 6.5 g hook instead of her recommended 5.5. I wanted to make it a little bigger than hers, but not this big. :)