What is this stitch?

KatieKP

Question

Hi There, I'm new to crochet (normally I just knit), I'm trying to finish the below linked pattern and am struggling with the stitch that is just called "remove 4 yo from hook" in row 7 of the chart, it looks like it is possibly something like a combination of treble crochet and puff stitch? I've not been able to find the symbol anywhere else and the written instructions on the pattern I've found confusing, they don't seem to add up? Has anyone seen this stitch before and is able to explain it for me please? At this point I'm tempted to try and replace it with a knitted lace edging but it would be nice to be able to finish the pattern!

https://schachenmayr.com/en/free-patterns/girls-shirt-s10273

Thanks for any help :)

Katie

2 answers to this question

I copied the instructions for the symbol in question

remove 4 yo from hook. Insert hook in st and draw through, bind off 2 loops 2x with every yo, * yo twice, insert hook in the same insertion point and bind off 2 loops 2x with every yo, rep from * 1x, bind off 3 loops with 1 yo, then bind off 2 loops 3x with 1 yo

This is my take or what I would do.  They are naming the symbol itself "remove 4 yo from hook".  Close up photo of sweater it looks like a treble crochet cluster but with cluster elongated with something different from the way we would typically finish the stitch off.

Insert hook in st and draw through, bind off 2 loops 2x with every yo,

I believe this should have said YO 2 times, insert hook in stitch and pull thru giving you 4 loops on your hook. YO and pull thru 2 loops, YO and pull thru 2 loops leaving 2 loops on hook.

* yo twice, insert hook in the same insertion point and bind off 2 loops 2x with every yo, rep from * 1x,

YO 2 times and insert hook into same place and pull thru.  Now you have 5 loops on hook.  YO and pull thru 2 loops, YO and pull thru 2 loops leaves 3 loops on hook.   Repeat this entire sequence 1 time.  This leaves 4 loops on hook.