Tension problems

Nat

Question

Hi 

I am a beginner crocheter and I am having alot of problems with my hand strength not being able to create enough tension on the yarn. I have hand nerve damage resulting in a loss of sensation. I have tried yarn rings but they don't really help much. I desperately want to be able to give crocheting a go but I am at a loss as to what I can do for this problem. Would anyone have any ideas or suggestions to help me out??

Thank you!!

Natalie

From Cairns, Queensland Australia!!

3 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!  I'm sorry you are having hand troubles, I've had a few issues over the years caused by other things but they are now thankfully  down to a 'dull roar' , I just have to limit my daily crafting time to a couple of hours tops.

I believe those rings are for doing colorwork in knit or crochet, to keep 2 skeins from crossing/tangling as you swap colors; I own one but thought it was fiddly, easier to put 1 skein on 1 side of me on the couch, and another skein on the other. I don't do all that much simultaneous colorwork.  I can't imagine how they would help with hand pain, and they don't restrict the movement of the yarn so would have zero effect on tensioning.