Reverse Shaping

Neutronmom

Question

Hi, I consider myself to be at the intermediate level but this is way over my head.  I’m making a long cardigan from a pattern which has instructions for the back and left front ONLY.  Essentially, you’re on your own to figure out the st pattern to shape the right : “RIGHT FRONT Make same as Left Front, reversing all shaping.”
Sooo after many searches, I’ve come up empty for a ‘how to’.  Lion Brand’s website has a blurb about it but it’s a little tricky for me to grasp as I am not that experienced.  I’d appreciate any suggestions.  Thank you!

1 answer to this question

I'm not surprised there isn't a how-to, reverse shaping for 100 different patterns would entail 100 (slightly different) how-to's, because there are all sorts of shaping possibilities depending on neckline and sleeve style.  Deep breath, hold, exhale... it's trust me, it's not as intimidating as you think.

Fronts of sweaters are (commonly) just rectangles from hem to armpits. with straight-line armholes for a drop sleeve (same type of sleeve as a T-shirt) or indented armholes for a set-in sleeve, and neckline variations from round to V to scoop, square, boat...

I assume you meant to say the pattern only included one of either the left or right fronts, plus the back.

So if you make 1 front of a set-in sleeve cardigan, it probably 'indented' at the sleeve and at the neckline in different rows.  If made bottom up, the left front (that you had the pattern for) probably said (something like), if the armhole started on row 30 at the beginning of the row and was in DC:  slip stitch over 3 stitches, chain 3, DC to end.