Whimsical Stitches Cow

crochet.chick

Question

hi I'm new to crocheting and as this is my very first project I'm very confused about how to read a pattern. can someone help me understand how to read this cow pattern from Whimsical Stitches?

these are the rows I don't understand:

R2: 2 sc in each st around

R3: *sc 1, 2 sc in nest st* 6 times

R4: *sc 2, 2 sc in nest st* 6 times

R5: *sc 3, 2 sc in nest st* 6 times

R6: *sc 4, 2 sc in nest st* 6 times

R7-12: sc 36

R13: *sc 4, inv dec 1* 6 times

does the order in which sc 1 then it goes 2 sc matter? and what do the asterisks mean? thanks!

5 answers to this question

does the order in which sc 1 then it goes 2 sc matter?

Generally you work a pattern in the order it is written.  That being said you can always experiment and see if you like it or not.  Sometimes its going to matter other times it might not.  Crochet is easy to pull out and start over

and what do the asterisks mean? thanks!

in this pattern you work the stitch sequence written between the asterisks the number of times stated following the 2nd asterisk

R3: *sc 1, 2 sc in nest st* 6 times written out longhand would be

sc 1, 2 sc in nest st

sc 1, 2 sc in nest st

sc 1, 2 sc in nest st

sc 1, 2 sc in nest st

sc 1, 2 sc in nest st

sc 1, 2 sc in nest st

And typo in pattern given nest should be next

1 hour ago, bgs said:

does the order in which sc 1 then it goes 2 sc matter?

Generally you work a pattern in the order it is written.  That being said you can always experiment and see if you like it or not.  Sometimes its going to matter other times it might not.  Crochet is easy to pull out and start over

and what do the asterisks mean? thanks!

in this pattern you work the stitch sequence written between the asterisks the number of times stated following the 2nd asterisk

R3: *sc 1, 2 sc in nest st* 6 times written out longhand would be

sc 1, 2 sc in nest st

sc 1, 2 sc in nest st

sc 1, 2 sc in nest st

sc 1, 2 sc in nest st