Pattern Help

Tammy Leggetter

Question

A BIG thank you firstly to everyone who has supported my by answering previous questions I have posted.

I am very new to the world of crochet.  I have purchased a couple of patterns and taken the plunge and made a start on an Intermediate pattern, a vest.  It’s a very detailed pattern of five pictures and so I thought this would be the best first pattern for me. I have attached a picture of the vest from the pattern with the schematic.

I made a gauge (to correct gauge size) and started the pattern itself.  I noticed very shortly after starting the vest body in size XS that it just wasn’t going to work, despite having the correct gauge and measuring my stitches often.  The body shortly started to ripple and increase despite keeping to the correct stitches.  I ripped all out the body and tried less stitches but still the body rippled, I then ripped out the body and part of the ribbed waist band and started again with less band and less stitches (calculating down from the XS size) and I am now going off pattern but using my own measurements and taking into consideration the stretch in the fabric.  Going off pattern does somehow now seem to be working and I am trying on the garment often to ensure it still fits.  However, maybe I am all wrong in my thinking it’s ok to go off pattern?  I’ve attached a picture of my work so far.

I found another picture of the vest made by someone else (picture attached) and this vest really doesn’t look like the pattern.  The pattern has a lovely curved in waist and lovely shaped shoulders and a really nice shaped neck.  

My questions to anyone kind enough to answer is, do you sometimes find that your finished garments don’t look exactly like the picture on the pattern? But with your experience and making adjustments you can get it to look like the pattern?  If you are making a garment do you suggest you need to keep holding up your work at stages to your body and measuring?