Graduation hood pattern?

bethanyhwhite

Question

My sister's graduation has been confirmed as online this year and I'd love to crochet her a graduation hood to surprise her for her virtual ceremony and celebrations. Any ideas for where I could find a pattern? The textile patterns for the hoods look confusing, it only needs to be simple as I'm a beginner! Recommendations for yarns/hook size would be appreciated too :) thanks!

3 answers to this question

Now I wonder where my hood and tassel are...do you know what color(s) for her honors level it should be?  Our schools' hood was associated with an organization of the state I was in, and not everyone was eligible for a hood, and there was only 1 style and color (gold satin); actually if she is eligible for a hood I'd think she (or you?) would be able to send for a real hood and probably tassel too.

As I remember mine,  if you were to disconnect it at the narrow end it was just a really wide "V" which was thicker at the bottom of the V and narrowed considerably at the top of the V--sort of like this , not sure of the dimension of this one but mine was really long.  As I look online, there seem to be all sorts of shapes out there, do you know what shape and size hers should have been, and did you find a pattern for that shape?  If so we can try to describe how to crochet it; if I described how to make mine it may not resemble the one she'd have gotten.

Edit, OK I did not graduate from Oxford, but this is the back side of what mine looked like - scroll down past the top photo to second one, to the photo of the man and woman; their robes appear to have a real black hood (or something), but my high school hood would have looked like only the narrow colored part from the back - the front would have been more or less an upside down pyramid across the chest with a v-neck cut out of it, if that makes sense.  (now you see what I mean that the hood was really long, I thought the back looked silly)