I need help with a lace glove pattern.

TheGloveGirl

Question

I bought this pattern off etsy and I'm having trouble with the front of the hand. This is my first time making lace gloves.

My problem is that front fingers don't join up like in the picture and I don't know what to do.

The back of the hand (mesh looking part) is ok.

The pattern: https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/637345740/vintage-crochet-lace-flower-gloves?ga_order=most_relevant&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_search_query=crochet+lace+gloves&ref=sr_gallery-1-11&organic_search_click=1

This is an image from the pattern I bought. See how the fingers join? Mine doesn't.

20200705_180820.thumb.jpg.13295ab17a387dd96e9a31fba480821c.jpg

This what my work looks like.

20200705_103244.thumb.jpg.28ba887bf7ad99411bfe505285677118.jpg

Edited by TheGloveGirl

5 answers to this question

How is the glove made?  Does the pattern orient you in any way (example, "starting at the cuff, chain x")?  I can think of 2 ways that keep the stitches oriented the same way (which this flower pattern would likely be), fingers down (make fingers separately and join where fingers meet the palm) or cuff up, and what you have doesn't look like the finger area to me. 

It's OK to type out a couple of lines of the pattern, just don't post the whole thing for copyright reasons.  Also, It's a good idea to read a pattern all the way thru before starting it, to get your bearings so to speak and make sure there aren't any surprises (probably especially for vintage patterns).

The palm and the back of the hand are made seprately, then joined together, then the cuff is made. (Fingers down).

This is some of the pattern: 

Back. First finger. Commence with 87 ch. (work ch loosely).

1st Row: 1 tr into 7th ch from the hook, * ch 2, miss 1 ch, 1 tr into next ch; repeat from * to end of row (41 sps), 5 ch, turn.