multiple border question

jdsackett

Question

Hi all. New here so please bear with me if this has been asked before. Very new to crochet, not even sure if i qualify as a beginner, working on my third large project which is a rug. What I am doing is making a center pattern freehand, no pattern involved, that's about 32" long and a little over 10" wide. So now I want to fill it out with different color borders until it gets to be about 45" long and  roughly 2 feet wide. I recently finished a round rug, my first one, and needed to add stitches in each row to keep it laying flat. Question: Do I have to increase the stitch count for each row of borders on a rectangle rug to keep it flat?? I'm pretty much self taught from youtube vids and google searches and have not found an answer to my question, so any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks for any input, and stay healthy out there, J.D.

3 answers to this question

Yes, you will have to increase stitches each round.

You will want to turn the corners this way:  sc, 3 stitches in the corner, dc, 5 stitches in each corner.  What I like to to, that takes a bit of the 'bulk' out of this corner turn, is make the center stitch a chain--this way you are still covering the distance around that you need, but the corner turns more crisply.

It looks like you will need to add about a 7" border all around to hit the dimensions you are looking for.

Hi JD, welcome!  I think if you've made two large projects and started making up your own designs, you are a little bit beyond beginner status:hook

I second what Granny Square said.

If your center panel was done in rows, on two sides of it you'll be putting the first round of border stitches into the sides of stitches rather than into the top or bottom of stitches.  That can be a little harder to keep even and flat so you may need to fudge a little on that first round.