Help with Gauge

LoveNeedleArts

Question

Although I'm new to crochet, I'm trying to learn about gauge.     It hasn't been a big problem for me yet, as I prefer to stitch non-wearable items.   

I understand what gauge is, and how it relates to a pattern, and even understand about making adjustments if your gauge doesn't match the pattern.

My questions are:

1)  if making a dish cloth or other small item and the finished size is supposed to be 9" square; I sometimes find my finished piece coming out at only 7" or 8".   I'm guessing it has to do with the tension, gauge, or not using the exact yarn as the pattern, etc.   But how to correct the problem?    

2)  When I do my foundation chain as pattern states, shouldn't the length of the chain be the same length as the finished project?  It seems like if a finished piece is 9" then the foundation chain should be equally that long?

3)  When I swatch, my adjustments (going up a hook size or down a hook size) still don't fix the problem.   Ex:   pattern states 11 sts x 10 rows = 2 inches.   My swatch comes out with 8 sts x 8 rows = 2 inches.   This is with the adjustments.    

I'm wondering if I'm just not understanding how to properly count the stitches to meet the 2 inches or perhaps some other misunderstanding on my part?

Many thanks!

7 answers to this question

hi, welcome to the Ville!  

1.  The first thing to think about would be, as you said, the yarn you are using is different.  If you look at the yarn weight categories https://www.craftyarncouncil.com/weight.html each category is actually a range.  So if you have 2 yarns that are both classed as worsted for example, one may be lighter and more of a DK while the other may be heavier and closer to bulky.  One example would be Caron Simply Soft; the mfr classes it as Aran (heavy worsted) but for many of us it works up like a DK.  So the closer you can match the yarn suggested in the pattern, the easier it should be to get gauge.