Helped needed with dc pattern- beginner

Aynay1981

Question

Hi there! Ultra beginner here. I have a pattern I would like to do. I have been practicing but I think I have been getting mixed information. I thought I would ask a couple questions to help me get going in the right direction. 

If I need a row of 10 dc stitches how many should I chain together first? I have read both add both 2 or 3. Then I take the hook and insert it into the 4th loop and begin to build off that. 

Even if my stitch count is even I seem to have an issue with the edges of my work having large “waves” to them. I know it’s normal for them to have a slight wave, but mine are very bulky. I can always post a photo for example. 

Thanks in advance!!

2 answers to this question

Hi, welcome to the Ville!  

Please tell us about the pattern, its name and where it is.  That way we can see if there is anything unusual you need to know about it.  

And yes please do post a photo so we can see the wavy edges.  

A couple of things.  First, there's a standard/typical way that patterns use to determine the number of chains to do to support x number of DCs (assuming straight DCs being worked, not a lacy pattern which might start with more chains for the openwork).  Second, that standard/typical way may not work as well visually for everyone, because not everyone has the same vertical stitch tension.