Stitches getting tighter?

alyssafetty

Question

So I’m new to crocheting and I am starting with a blanket using bernat baby yarn. I noticed the more rows I add, the tighter it gets. I know it’s probably due to the tension I have with my yarn, but is there anyway I can loosen my stitches instead of restarting? When I compare ends, one end is at least 6-10inches longer than the other. If you look at the picture, you can definitely tell where it changes in tightness. I know I have the right amount of stitches because I count every row or sometimes every other row. Hopefully someone can help!

image.jpg

3 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!  I like that colorway, very calming colors.

I can't quite tell from the photo where the tension changes, but am guessing that since the top of the photo seems to be further away, and the stitches seem bigger, that the bottom of the photo that appears nearer, but looks like it has smaller stitches, is the problem. 

Throwing this out there - not tension related, but a lot of beginners miss the last stitch of the row, so their piece keeps getting narrower (but this usually happens with taller stitches).  Is your stitch count the same at the beginning and at your current row, and possibly be part of the problem?

Also, I as a beginner (and I suspect I'm not the only one) crocheted tightly.  I found that I was forming the stitch close to the tip of the hook, at the 'throat' not over the shaft which is what regulates the size of the stitch.  I ha to re-train myself to change how I made the stitches.  However, this wouldn't explain your changing tension.

Or, something that is true of not just beginners, sometimes our tension can change on a large project; it gets heavier and we handle it differently; we crochet tighter or looser if a scary chase scene is on TV; when we're upset, etc.