I really need help on this, is not mentioned in pattern

Jessamatsu

Question

I am a complete beginner. When I am doing this scarf patten, these are the instructions:

• Row 1. Dc into the 4th chain from the hook (3 skipped chains count as first dc stitch) and in each chain across.
  • Row 2. Ch 3, turn, dc into the second dc and in every dc stitch from the previous row all the way across.
  • Repeat Row 2 until the scarf measures your desired length.

When I am completed with row 2, I will continue on again and do row 2 repeatedly. I understand that, but when I get to the end of the row (technically my row 3), I will have a large loop from the DC ch 3 from the previous row. How do I work this into the row so that my edges are even? It does not state this in the pattern. Do I skip the last stitch, work a DC into the top of Ch 3 from the previous row? I cannot find anywhere that shows this in detail, or even mentions for that matter. The only information I have found is it is called a chain 3 gap and that if you want to avoid it you can instead of ch 3 for DC, ch 2 and not count it as the first stitch, i.e., work into it. If I don't work this in and continue on, it seems to flare out my edges because it's so bulky. 

Thank you so much for any reply; I'm sorry if it is convoluted, but I have a hard time explaining this.

3 answers to this question

So, most crochet stitches have 'turning chains' to bring the yarn up to the height of the next row.  The taller the stitch, the more turning chains.

Here's the rule - in general.  

SC - turning chain is 1, it does not count as a stitch ever, or at least in my decades I haven't run across a pattern were it does.  

HDC - my least favorite single stitch, is also a little odd because the turning stitch is either 1 or 2, and sometimes does, sometimes doesn't, count as a stitch.  The pattern should tell you.