Flat hat :(

jlcgrandma

Question

I’m no expert but I thought I was past beginner level until ...... da da daaaa (creepy music). I had a stroke in January and find this activity great for my brain & overall well being. Since stroke day  I’ve crocheted over 100 American Girl outfits to distribute  every young girl I know it seems from Grandma Phyllis.....  at least a dozen blankets, several pillows, hats & scarfs  and a few stuffed animals. I always purchase patterns, firm believer in rewarding creativity. 

So that’s by backstory - here’s my problem. I purchased a pattern to make an adorable football hat for my nephew. I can’t seem to get a cap like the picture on the pattern. I keep getting almost a pillbox looking hat and because it’s for a young child I can’t try it on. I’ve switched hooks 3 times. The pattern has at least 8 varied sizes from newborn to xl adult 

attached is the pattern I purchased and my hat which according to instructions is only 2 rows from completion but no where near a cap and no response from email sent to where I purchased pattern from  

can anyone tell me what I’m doing wrong? I’ve crocheted troll hats, cabbage patch hats, slouched beanies .... I’m bewildered 

431A142A-94D7-49A4-8838-A9378A97E225.jpeg

EDE35B4A-6058-44E5-97B1-6D3386FBF041.jpeg

8 answers to this question

I think what you are doing is wonderful.

I bet it would form to his head, but I've got a thought that might get it to look less pill-boxy.

First, a tuturial and size charts for heads of various ages. http://thecrochetcrowd.com/crochet-hat-sizes-reference-guide/