In need of desperate help!

MariferGuerra

Question

Hi! I am a newbie at crocheting and so far loving it! I am now starting my 3rd project SOCKS!! I thought i was doing great but then I got stuck and don't know how to interpret this set of instructions if anyone can help me I would greatly appreciate it! Thank you! Happy crocheting!

Instruction: sc in center 14 sc at bottom of Heel. Mark last stitch with stitch marker. (Move stitch marker up as work progresses in subsequent rows.) Begin working in a spiral without joining rounds throughout-81 sc. - See more at: http://crochetkim.com/freepatterns/house-ankle-socks-for-men/#sthash.uOFpoJW7.dpuf

11 answers to this question

I am so sorry  I don't want to be difficult but I've been trying this all day and it isn't looking right haha I am starting to feel discouraged :/ ... I am going to put the whole round to see if you can help me figure out where to do the 14 sc or how and go from there please!! 

Gusset Shaping

Round 1: Ch 1, sc in side of 12 rows of Heel, sc in side of 43 remaining rows of Ribbing, sc in side of 12 rows on opposite side of Heel, sc in center 14 sc at bottom of Heel. Mark last stitch with stitch marker. (Move stitch marker up as work progresses in subsequent rows.) Begin working in a spiral without joining rounds throughout-81 sc.

Before this round everything has been pretty straight forward I haven't worked in spiral at all so I am not sure where or how to start

You've made the cuff ribbing and sewn it into a tube-check

You've made what is known as a 'heel flap' which in this case is a trapezoid, with the first row made into the side of 10 rows of the cuff-check.  (the wide end, with 16 stitches, is at the bottom back heel)