Mixing double crochets with v stitches

YarnBall

Question

I'm very new to crocheting. All I've made so far are small toy-sized scarves and blankets for my kids' stuffed animals. My current project is a scarf for my daughter. So far, every row is dc only. I'd like to try mixing in a few rows of v stitch here and there just to play around with the look.

I made sure I had the correct number of multiples to make this scarf work with the v stitch. I haven't been counting stitches but I do carefully make sure I skip the correct number of stitches between each v stitch. When I completed a row of v stitches, that row ended up longer than the rows of dc underneath so the scarf started to form into a circular shape.

I was so frustrated I pulled out the whole row of v stitch before taking a photo of it. Argh!

What am I doing wrong?

12 answers to this question

The classic v st here is how it is usually done http://www.redheart.com/learn/articles/how-to-crochet-classic-dc-v-stitch-plus-3-variations

At end of row, count the sts and you should have same number of sts as the preceding row. Count the tops of the dc and count the chains .

There are bunches of V stitch variations ( have a stitch dictionary with a whole chapter on them), but the important thing to consider is how many stitches they "use up" on the row below if you are mixing V stitches with other stitches, and want to keep all the rows the same number of stitches.