Numbers wont work

Miggity

Question

Let me start by saying I am very new to crochet. I've got the basics and I watch a lot of videos for help. I guess my biggest question is why despite my best efforts somehow I always end up off a stitch somehow. I'm working on a parka that i have gotten my chain down and my first row back of SC then I'm DC on the way back with spaces along the way. The first few times i started that row over because my midpoint wasn't lining up like it should. I started it again today and everything was finally making sense and lining up like it should. I was on top of the world until i hit the end of the row and did my final DC but there is this SC staring me in the face saying "You got off one somewhere!!" I've stared at my row and I am not seeing anywhere I made an error. I so don't want to pull that row out AGAIN but I know that adding and extra DC to finish this row off is only gonna make the pattern continue to be off. My guess is that I am just not as wise as I fell yet and that this all get easier as you do it over and over. I was just so excited that it was finally working and then WOMP. If anyone has any newbie tips other than "pay closer attention" lol I would be greatly appreciative.

Thanks from a frustrated newbie!

4 answers to this question

welcome to the ville!   :hook

Telling yousrelf to pay closer attention is not bad advice :-)  but it is kind of vague.  there are specific things you can do though.

First, pick a good reliable pattern that does not have errors in it.  if the numbers in the pattern are wrong, you have a problem even before you start.  So tell us the name and location of the pattern so we can look at it.