newbie in need of help

mac

Question

I am a newbie to crochet (teaching myself off the internet) & I have bought my first book of patterns to try out. As I have only followed along to videos online, I have yet to learn how to actually read a pattern. Can someone please help me with the confusing part at the end of the instructions?

I am attempting to make a Memory Lane afghan

To start I was instructed to chain 246 

Row 1: Hdc in 3rd chain from hook (2 skipped chs count as an hdc) and in next 3 chs; * (ch 1, sk next ch, dc in next ch) 3 times; (ch 1, sk next ch, trc in next ch) 3 times; (ch 1, sk next ch, dc in next ch) 3 times; ch 1, sk next ch,hdc in next 5 chs; rep from * 9 times more: eleven 5-hdc groups; ch 3 (counts as first dc on following rows), turn.

I understand the abbreviations - hdc, ch, sk, dc, trc, rep - and I think I understand the () - do stitches in brackets 3 times before proceeding on to next.  What is confusing is the rep from * 9 times more: eleven 5-hdc groups - I don't have enough chains to repeat the 3 patterns 9 more times, does each pattern count as 1 or 3 (meaning do I make 9 more of each or just 3 more of each) & does eleven 5-hdc mean I should have that many total (from start to finish) at the end or am I to make that many hdc at the end (again.not enough chains to make that many)?

I'm sorry this is so long, but hopefully someone can help me make sense out of it. Thank you in advance!

11 answers to this question

Please say where the pattern is as the numbers don't add up for me either.  You are to do what is in the brackets 3 times each then ch 1, sk next ch, hdc in next 5chs, then repeat that 9 times. The 5hdc groups are the ones where you do 5 hdc in a row.

Cant be sure but would like to know where the pattern is.

If I did it right I now think they do add up.

edited for change.

I just did this 'on paper' and come up with requiring a chain of 246.