Help with toddler dress.

Kenyata Miller

Question

Hi everyone!

I have been crocheting for a few months now, and I working on a new project. I am making a dress and because I'm a gluten for punishment it's an intermediate pattern, and I seem to be stuck. I have finished the yoke and can't seem to figure out what to do with the first round. Here is the last row that I finished:

Row 8: (WS) turn, ch 2, hdc in first st, hdc in each of next 18 sts, ch 16, sk next 28 sts, hdc in next st (create armhole), hdc in each of next 37 sts, ch 16, sk next 28 sts, hdc in next st (create armhole), hdc in each of next 18 sts. (76 sts)

And here is where I am stuck:

Bodice

Note: working in rounds

Round 9: (RS) turn, ch 3, sk first st, (3 dc, ch 3, 1 dc) in next st, [sk next 2 sts, (3 dc, ch 3, 1 dc) in next st] 5 times, sk next st and ch 2, sl st to next ch, sc in each of next ch 11, sl st to next ch, sk next ch 2, [sk next 2 sc, (3 dc, ch 3, 1 dc) in next st] 12 times, sk next sc and ch 2, sl st to next ch, sc in each of next ch 11, sl st to next ch, sk next ch 2 and sc, [(3 dc, ch 3, 1 dc) in next st, sk next 2 sts] 5 times, (3 dc, ch 3, 1 dc) in next st, dc in last st, do not turn, sl st to beg ch 3 top. (24 (3 dc, ch 3, 1 dc))

What the heck am I suppose to do? I'm completely co fused about where the ch11 comes from, where the sc's come from, and I'm not even sure which way to start. Here is what my dress looks like thus far

post-77489-0-06680600-1469050661_thumb.jpg

11 answers to this question

welcome to the ville!  what is the name and location of the pattern?

on the previous row, when you  chained 16 and skipped 28 stitches, that created the armholes.  now you are working around part of the yoke and the 16 ch on each side, to create the bodice.