am i reading my pattern wrong...?

zaojazaki

Question

Hi,

im kinda just stuck...im new to crocheting this is my first wriiten pattern im working on..and i just cant seem to get it right.

so it says 

chain2, turn; hdc in next 4hdc, 2hdc in next hdc, hdc in next 3hdc, 2hdcin next hdc [hdc in next 2hdc, 2hdc in next hdc] 3times, hdc in next 11hdc, [ 2hdc in next 2hdc, 2hdc in next hdc] 3 times, 2hdc in hdc, hdc in next 3 hdc, 2hdc in next hdc, hdc in last 5 hdc --59 hdc

so in the last row i ended with 49 hdc...and wat i understand is in this row im supposed to end with 59hdc...but every time im done with this row i end up with 64 hdc...am i reading the pattern wrong...wat should i do... how do i find my mistake...???

i hope u guys understand wat im trying to ask...do let me know if more detail is needed...im rlly stuck..

regards...stuck crocheter :(

11 answers to this question

hi, welcome to the ville!  

by my count there are 10 increases in that line.  each "2 hdc in next hdc" is an increase.  so if you had 49 before, yes this row should equal 59.  

do you understand the square brackets [ ] ?

what is the name and location of the pattern?

hi, welcome to the ville!  

by my count there are 10 increases in that line.  each "2 hdc in next hdc" is an increase.  so if you had 49 before, yes this row should equal 59.  

do you understand the square brackets [ ] ?

what is the name and location of the pattern?

thankyou for the welcome..:)

wat my understanding about the square brackets is that whatever is written in brackets is repeated by the number of times that written outside the brackets.

for instance 

[hdc in next 2hdc, 2hdc in next hdc] 3times,

this would mean i have to

half double crochet in the next 2 half double crochets then i have to do 2 half double crochet in the next half double crochet and i have to do this 3 times.

is this right or am i reading it wrong...?