Enchanted Bolero by Pierrot Yarns Pattern Help Needed

Vanessa Wee

Question

Hi all,

With the help of many villagers from this community, i have managed to finish the back and right front of the pattern.

How should i start off the right left?? Can i work as per how i did it for the right front and flipped it over as left?

Also, what does reverse shaping means? Actually i would also need some explanation on shaping?

Apologies for my many question as its my first project.

5 answers to this question

Reverse shaping means what you guessed it means - work it as the other side but in reverse. Example if the first side said: on row x, begin armhole shaping at the beginning of the row, and shape the neckline at the end of the row, on the second side you'd start row x with the neck shaping and end it with the armhole shaping.

Since crochet doesn't look the same in the front and back, this ensures that the stitches look the same when looking straight across at both pieces together, at the front and at the seams.  (You'll want to have the back side facing the same way as the fronts when you seam).

In all honesty, I personally would probably make the second front just like the first front, then flip it over.  That is the simplest way for me to create a mirror-image shape.

My rationale is that there are "right" and "wrong" side rows in the fabric, either way you work it.  They won't match up across the pieces but I don't think it will really be noticeable, especially since this is a very openwork fabric.  The chain sttiches should look about the same from either side.  The cluster/puff stitches are likely to look somewhat different from different sides, but it is a 3-row repeat so you will have them showing from both sides anyway.  

But you should know that what Granny Square described is the correct way to do reverse shaping.